Ambitions…or at least desires

“Far away there in the sunshine

are my highest aspirations.I

may not reach them but I can

look up and see their beauty,

believe in them and try to

follow them.”

Louisa May Alcott

Lately I’ve been thinking about what I want to do. I know that I love music – I love singing, playing the piano & flute…but what can I do with that? I do like composition, but I am so bad at writing choral parts…Dr. Forrest knows – he had to grade my sorry parallel 5th and whatnot. :p

I’ve always wanted to take a drawing class, but I never had the time free in college to actually do it and my drawing now is pretty atrocious.

I do like photography, but not only am I just “so-so”, but there are also TONS of great photographers out there.

I’ve tried writing poetry before and it’s “eh”…and I love writing literary criticism but I stink at writing stories.

So. What to do? Well I’m going to try a little bit of everything. I’m going to try my hand at drawing, photography,writing poetry (and maybe some music)…and see if anything sticks or strikes a spark.

If nothing comes out of it, I’ll know I tried and I can move on to something else. 🙂

_____________

How did you figure out what you wanted to do?

Did you just know? Did you have to search?

Have you figured it out yet or are you like me?

3 thoughts on “Ambitions…or at least desires

  1. I think this is exactly why so many people get “stuck” in a job that they hate or don’t enjoy–they went to school for something only to find out that the career they idealized has so many problems that it is no longer fulfilling (i.e. teaching, nursing) I know this is not true in every case, of course. I guess that’s why we have hobbies….when we’re not working we can still do things that give us joy (if we have any energy left at that point, lol). I guess it is the rare exception for someone to make enough money doing the thing they actually love.

    Reply
    • I think that’s why a lot of people have a “mid-life crisis.” They wake up one morning, realize they’re 40 and still not doing what they want to do, and freak out…and buy a mustang (or whatever) that they probably can’t afford.

      Mark Twain put it nicely: “The secret to success is to make your vocation your vacation.” If you can do what you want for a living, you got it made.

      Reply
  2. I always assumed that I would go into music or English. By the time I got to college, I was sick to death of writing and I knew I hated literary analysis, and I was afraid of going into music because when I’d taken voice lessons the year before I got bronchitis and couldn’t sing at all for six months. So, when I had to declare a major, I saw graphic design and thought, “Huh. That looks like fun” and circled it for my major, assuming I’d get over my aversion to English in a semester and change my major. But as it turned out, I had a really natural knack for design, and I didn’t tire of it the way I tired of writing and singing and playing piano. I toyed with the thought of not continuing with design after I left BJU, but so far it’s been a really good career choice. Still…if I had my way, I’d make a living doing a crazy mix of English, music, and art/design. 🙂

    I hope you post your art as you go! Would love to see it 🙂

    Reply

Comments welcome - please be civil.

